Picture
Zip linging through the Alaskan Rain Forest
Traveling is one of the hottest trends on the market today, and people are soaking it up. Literally! From catching beautiful sun rays in the Bahamas, to setting sail on a Costa Mayan cruise.  So, if you want to experience new cultures and ways of life, traveling is for you! With tens of thousands of travel destinations, you too can have the opportunity to see the world.

One place in particular that I truly enjoyed traveling to was Alaska. This past August, I took an Alaskan cruise on the Disney Cruise Line. This cruise line in particular is a great high quality cruise that accommodates to passengers of all ages, not just young children and families. On this cruise, I was able to learn about diversity and cultures through the local natives in Alaska.  Not only was I able to see the White Capp Mountains and spectacular scenary, but I was able to go white water rafting in Ketchikan, and go zip lining through the Alaskan Rain Forest. Now, I know what you’re thinking. How was I able to make this trip for myself on an affordable budget? Well, according to USA TODAY, there are many ways. This travel website gives you seven easy steps to an affordable and fun vacation in the mountainous area of Alaska! Alaska is a flourishing state and has a high attraction rate for tourist and their families. The main cost you will find yourself spending money on is transportation to Alaska. According to one of my bus tour guides, Marcus, there are actually three ways you can enter the state of Alaska. This includes Plane, Ship, and his all-time favorite, the birth Canal.

Picture
Viewing of the Route through Alaska
When I traveled to Alaska, the weather was absolutely perfect with low 70°s during the day and mid to upper 50°s in the evenings. Many people think that there aren’t many activities to do in Alaska, when in reality there are many attractions, restaurants, shops, and venues to see. Whale watching is a “must do” attraction while visiting. Not only will you see a variety of sea life, which include whales of all types, sea lions, porpoises, and dolphins, but you also get the experience of sailing out miles into the Arctic Ocean near Auke Bay. One stop that we made while whale watching, and would highly recommend, is a quaint restaurant called Orca Point Lodge, located on a little island near Juneau. Its a family friendly mom and pop restaurant that serves homemade clam chowder and baked salmon. Allen Marine Tours is a great site that will give you more information on Orca Point Lodge and its background and history. On my Alaskan cruise, we went through a very narrow passage called Tracey’s Arm. This was spectacular scenery because there were large glacier mountains on both sides of the ship. At the end of the passage, we were able to get about half a mile distance from the glacier. It was definitley a picture worthy sight! This was something that I had never experienced before, and it was a once in a lifetime opportunity. So, if you want to experience the excitement and the different wonders of the world, start traveling today! Traveling is for all ages young and old. It’s never too late to start. Global Connect is just an easy way to start looking into something that you already love.

Jessica Gates
10/24/2012 02:39:20 am

Hi I am Jessica from the MWF 11am class. I was attracted to your blog because I have always wanted to travel to Alaska. I want to do a hunting trip for moose though. I liked your opening picture and having the map was very helpful. I thought that your writing was upbeat and inspiring. Your suggestions for activities and places to visit were nice because they gave places to research, make reservations, and stop for. Overall, your blog gave great information and made me feel the need to travel to Alaska even more than before.

Reply
10/24/2012 07:20:43 am

Hi Kelsey, I'm Amanda from the Flora and Fawna Organization. I was drawn to your website because I was curious and enjoyed the pictures. I enjoyed your blog and liked how you suggested things to do on a budget which a lot of the time is an issue for my family. I have been zip lining once before and it is truly an exhilarating experience. Alaska seems very interesting and I have always wanted to take a trip there. I think it would especially be an awesome experience to see different varieties of wildlife and different landscapes.

Reply
Josue Amador
10/25/2012 09:30:35 am

Hi my name is Josue Amador from Mexico, and I am a junior in Texas A&M University Kingsville. I really like you blog because traveling on a cruise is an unforgettable experience. Ten years ago I also had the opportunity to go on a cruise to Alaska with my family and have been one of my best trips. I do not really remember all, but one of the things I liked most was the icebergs. Nice Blog!!!

Reply
Briana Villarreal
10/26/2012 07:58:33 am

Hello Kelsey, my name is Briana Villarreal and I am a junior at Texas A&M University Kingsville. I enjoyed your blog very much, it reminded me of my trips to Disney World in Florida. My mother and I tend to go every year; It's a great experience every time we go. Going to Alaska on a Disney Cruise Line seems even better; I would love to experience that one day. Thank you for sharing.

Reply



Leave a Reply.